What is the BOH Cameronian Arts Awards?

The BOH Cameronian Arts Awards (BCAA) is a recognition of outstanding performances in the performing arts scene in the previous year.


What’s different for the 14BCAA and beyond?

We are raising the bar and changing the judging system. By removing categorical barriers, we will be judging shows based on higher merit and heightened technical and artistic distinction. We want to drive competition and shift the focus to encouraging shows and productions that are outstanding and impactful.


What are the benefits of being on the “Best Of” list?

Being on the “Best Of” list will be more than about recognising achievements. We want to help enable performing arts companies to do more and go further.

So, between the months of May and June 2017, Kakiseni will be organising roundtable discussions and meetings to showcase “Best Of” show producers to potential sponsors keen on financially backing promising arts companies as well as international festival curators and directors.


Who will be invited to the Awards Night?

Key people from the productions that have made it onto the “Best Of” list will be invited to the Awards Night. In addition to members of the media, key high-net-worth investors and business leaders from top companies in Malaysia will be invited to attend.

While this is a night to recognise the best talents in the performing arts industry, we also aim to reinvent the BOH Cameronian Arts Awards as a platform for “Best Of” show producers and Award recipients to meet and build relationships with potential sponsors keen on financially backing promising arts companies.

Invitations will be sent out as soon as they are ready.


Is there a precedent for the re-direction of the 14BCAA?

Many arts awards around the world, like the National Arts Awards (America) and the Sidney Myer Performing Arts Awards (Australia) recognise outstanding performances and achievements without restricting themselves within art forms and categories. Closer to home, it was announced in 2013 that the Cultural Medallion, which is widely recognised as Singapore’s pinnacle arts awards, would no longer be categorised according to art form.

We want to ensure that the awards stay relevant to industry players and will continue to look at ways in which we change and evolve to meet the needs and trends of the performing arts industry, not just in Malaysia, but around the world.



So, how does this new judging system work?

Judges from all categories will still be invited to watch shows and score the performances.

Productions from all four categories will compete against each other to make it onto the year’s “Best Of” list.

A panel of executive judges will choose only the most outstanding performances to be on this list, and which subcategories (e.g. Best Actor in a Supporting Role, Best Set Design) will be given out during the awards night.


Why are the awards no longer according to category?

We believe that our artists and industry players have the ability to shine and exhibit skills, talent and create deep impact across a wide audience. By awarding outstanding performances without restricting the competition to within individual categories, we are creating a platform for higher standards that will further encourage the growth of our industry.


How are the judges selected?

We are blessed to have a pool of strong industry professionals to choose from. Our decision will be made based on a few key criteria: credentials, experience, commitment and versatility.


What is the role of an Executive Judge?

The Executive Judges are responsible for reviewing the Awards judging process in 2016, which includes assessing subcategories to determine if the quality of nominees is excellent enough to justify an Award.

With regards to shows in 2017, a flagging committee will flag shows of outstanding quality which all the Executive Judges will required to attend and assess them for inclusion in the “Best of 2017” list.


Is there a fixed number of performances that will be on the “Best Of” list?

No. The number of performances that make the “Best Of” lists every year will be determined by the judges based on the calibre of the productions.


When you say “outstanding, excellent and best of the best”, what do you mean?

On the one hand, of course it refers to great and outstanding technical skills. But we are also looking for productions that are game changers. It is about daring to be different, to move outside comfort zones, to take leaps of faith, to risk experimenting with different styles to produce something out of this world that have the power to impact and engage with audiences.


Does this new judging system make it more difficult for new productions or amateurs to join the Awards?

We believe that this new judging system encourages new productions and amateurs to really step out of their comfort zones and aim to achieve the best that they can. We want them to be more bold and daring in pushing themselves to the limit. And when they produce a performance that grabs our judges’ attention, they can definitely be part of the Awards.


Can someone still be awarded for an outstanding performance, even if the production is not on the “Best Of” list?

In a nutshell, all nominees for the Awards will come from the shows on the “Best Of” list. However, in the event of an exception where the judges determine that there has been an outstanding performance by an individual from a show not on the “Best Of” list, then, yes, it is possible. The judges will have the final say.